In Europe? Make your Banjoree plans!

Want to break out of the “bum-ditty” box? I’ll teach “Progressive clawhammer banjo rhythms” on May 2 at the Banjoree near Hagen Germany. We’ll play several non-“bum-ditty” rhythms, including Balkan ones like 7/8, that you can use to expand your clawhammering creativity.

The rhythm workshop is just one of several at the weekend. You can build your expertise in many styles, including:

  • Scruggs technique: Juergen Biller
  • Classic and minstrel: Clarke Buehling
  • 3-finger single string: Andreas David
  • Progressive clawhammer banjo: Udo Weihrauch

There are also workshops in three-finger bluegrass guitar (Wayne Henderson) and bluegrass mandolin (Ulli Sieker).

Of course, we’ll also have jams. If you’re usually focused on melody but want to connect more with rhythm, then find me and we’ll organize a “trance jam” that will help you dig down into the groove.

I may also visit the UK, the Netherlands, and France near the time of the workshop. My plans aren’t firm yet. If you know of any festivals in the region, or if you’d just like to jam, let me know!

1 Response to “In Europe? Make your Banjoree plans!”


  1. 1 Martin March 22, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    I so wish I could be there.


Comments are currently closed.




