See how Aquila owners make gut strings

Here’s a video visit to the small Italian workshop where the Aquila folks (of Nylgut fame) show you how they make gut strings. At the end you’ll see a garage full of Nylgut.

The video is part of the Ukulele Safari, in which uke players Bosko and Honey film ukulele players around the world. I want to be Bosko & Honey.

5 Responses to “See how Aquila owners make gut strings”


  1. 1 Bumpditty April 1, 2009 at 2:31 am

    Thanks for the informative video. Thats some process :)

    So that bag he had in the beginning was sausage wrappers? I always thought nylgut was synthetic.

  2. 2 bill April 1, 2009 at 6:59 am

    That is so interesting-what an amazing process! What do vegetarian ukelele players use? Answers on a postcard please-and it is April fools day today!mmmmmmmmmm

  3. 3 Cathy April 1, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Bumpditty, I think the bag was sausage wrappers. The video shows how the Aquila people make real gut strings. I think the Nylguts are made somewhere else and stored in the garage.

  4. 4 Charles Crotts April 2, 2009 at 1:53 am

    Just wondering, did you have to change the bridge on your banjo to get the gut strings to fit? I’m thinking of switching but the bridge I have seems a bit snug.

    Thanks in advance.

    Charles

  5. 5 Cathy April 2, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Charles, the strings I’ve tried so far have fit normal bridges, and I haven’t had to change my nut or tailpiece. But they sound best with a light bridge.

    When I first put nylon strings on my banjo, I used a normal bridge, and they fit fine. But they were kind of quiet. Then the banjo’s neck needed a repair, which lowered the action, and I needed a taller bridge. So I researched what kinds of bridges work best for nylon and found this page:

    http://www.banjosessions.com/dec08/Hooks.html

    I ended up getting a tall maple “minstrel style” bridge that has no ebony inset. It’s this bridge:

    http://elderly.com/accessories/items/BA82T.htm

    Now the nylon strings have a lot more volume and “pop.”


Comments are currently closed.




