Hey Australia! Want a workshop or jam?

I’m happy to report that I’ll be visiting Australia from mid-November to mid-December on a business speaking tour, and so far it looks like I’ll have time for a banjo workshop or jam at these points:

Nov. 15 or 16: Adelaide or Tasmania
Nov. 22: Perth or Darwin
Nov. 28-29: Brisbane or Sydney
Dec. 6: Melbourne

I don’t want to book all these dates (even if it were possible) but if the date for your area looks good and you’d like to organize something, please let me know at the email address listed under the “About” tab.

Workshop topics could include syncopation/beyond bum-ditty, learning by ear, making a tune your own, or similar ideas. Or we could just jam–whatever works for you.

I’m also hoping to go to a bush dance or two and otherwise check out the music & dance scene, so if you know of anything I shouldn’t miss, please pass it along.

9 Responses to “Hey Australia! Want a workshop or jam?”


  1. 1 JF May 11, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    I’m normally a resident of Sydney – can’t guarantee I’ll be in the country in late November, so wouldn’t want to commit to organising (at least not at the moment), but if I am around I would definitely be keen to attend a workshop.

    Cheers!

  2. 2 ALAN HILL May 14, 2009 at 6:02 am

    Hi Cathy i have been playing for only a year and will be looking forward to your workshop in Brisbane you will be made most welcome when you arrive and as you have seen on banjo hangout we are very much thrilled by your impending visit !!
    all the best keep doing what you do you inspire us all
    all the best alan

  3. 3 Steve Charman May 16, 2009 at 10:12 am

    G’day Cathy,

    A shame your visit won’t coincide with the Guildford Banjo Jambouree, an annual event here in Central Victoria. Still, make sure you pencil in “Daylesford and region” 12th and 13th December. That way you will be here for our regular monthly old-timey session on the Sunday (in Hepburn Springs). I’ve got a few other ideas as well… I’ll see you in Summer

  4. 4 Jacqui Mckenzie May 17, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Hey Cathy

    We look forward to welcoming you to Melbourne. Do let us know if there is anything we can do to assist with your trip.
    Re: Steve’s comment. Would highly recommend a trip to Daylesford as the crew up that way are tops and the music is fine.
    Cheers
    Jacqui

  5. 5 Cathy Moore May 18, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Thanks for the comments! I’ll post the schedule here as it firms up. My speaking engagements (and therefore my free time) are determined by my client, so I need to work around that schedule. At this point, I won’t be in Australia on Dec. 12 and 13 and as a result will unfortunately miss the Daylesford event.

  6. 6 Tim Slate June 19, 2009 at 6:59 am

    Hi Cathy,
    My name is Tim, I play clawhammer, and would love to attend a workshop if it is possible. I live in Adelaide, South Australia. I think it is great you might be coming to Adelaide, I’ve seen some of your lessons on youtube, I really like the way you talk about and play banjo, it makes alot of sense and sounds great.

    Thankyou.

    Tim Slate.

  7. 7 Cathy Moore June 27, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Hi Tim,

    Thanks for your interest in a workshop. At this point, it looks like I won’t be giving a workshop in Adelaide, but I will be attending an event in Tasmania, I think. A lot of plans are still up in the air. I’ll update the blog when my banjo schedule is more clear.

    Cathy

  8. 8 Sid Barone September 18, 2011 at 12:31 am

    Hi Cathy, just found out ur comin’ to Oz… i live closest to Melbourne.. pls keep me posted as to where you’ll be holding workshops, appearing etc..
    Also, Frank Faifield will be here for the Meredith Folk Festival & appearing at the Bendigo Blues Fest the previous weekend.. will you also be there by any chance??
    Sid,
    BHO newbie..

  9. 9 Cathy Moore September 22, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Hi Sid, thanks for your interest in an Australian workshop. Unfortunately, this post refers to a trip I took a couple of years ago, so I won’t be in Oz soon. Sorry!


Comments are currently closed.




