Where am I?

You may have noticed the thick layer of dust on this blog. I’ve been focusing more on my business than my banjo, and I’ve been traveling a lot.

Hurrican Alex wanders by for a visit

I’ve spent the last several months in Mérida, Mexico, where I’m likely to stay for awhile. It’s a peaceful city on the Yucatán peninsula with Mayan and Cuban cultural influences. My banjo isn’t here but it plans to join me, so maybe I’ll find some (very!) open-minded local musicians and see how salsa or trova rhythms work on the banjo.

I have some ideas for more lessons, so once I’m more settled, I hope to make some more videos.

Thanks for your patience and for the messages I’ve received personally and through your blogs!

8 Responses to “Where am I?”


  1. 1 Sandy McCall March 3, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Dear Cathy,

    All of your fans look forward to the return of some new videos. As I said before, you are an excellent teacher, a description most good banjo players can’t claim.

    Sandy McCall

  2. 2 Viper March 3, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I’d like to think I’m partly responsible for this post.

    Banjo salsa? Now, that would be interesting! Cheers!

  3. 3 John Hayes March 4, 2011 at 1:08 am

    Great to think that you may be posting again in this space–you’ve produced wonderful banjo music & lessons!

  4. 4 Randy J. Arnold March 7, 2011 at 12:48 am

    YAY!!!

  5. 5 mano May 3, 2011 at 5:53 am

    Ah, I’ve olny foind your blog and videos only a few days ago, and I have to say I’m in totally love with your music..
    I’m about to buy my first banjo, and find your views and style of playing music very inspirating.
    It’s soo good to hear that you’ll come back with more lessons

    Sincerely from Eastern Europe..

  6. 6 David May 7, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Yes, I miss your style of teaching. Was wondering about and thought what happened to Toads in the woodpile…glad you gave an update as so many blogs just stop dead in the water never to be heard from again…

  7. 7 Rick Otten August 13, 2011 at 6:55 am

    Yay! I am so glad you are back! I find your music inspiring. Actually living in the Yucatan area sounds like a really interesting experience.

  8. 8 banjo player December 16, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Dear Cathy
    “weeelcoomeee to Mexiccooooooooo!” as they mignt say in Merida (cf your other blog!).
    Thank you so much for your posts and music- You are an extremely gifted teacher!
    I am looking forward to an eventually “mariachi” song post and I recommend “El son de la negra”


Comments are currently closed.




